Hi, readers! So I’ve seen this little activity circling around booktube and bloggers and I thought it would be fun to participate! I will be telling you what I like and don’t like about the different us and uk covers of some of my favorite books. I will then pick a winner out of the two and see which country wins. I tried to pick books that I don’t see a lot of people commenting on. So, let’s get started!

~

1. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

US-UK

UK- I’m usually a big fan of black book covers, but I don’t with this edition. I do like the blue butterflies and the flames coming out of the open book (that portrays the novel perfectly). I HATE the little girl at the top though. She looks like a floating head and is out of place with the rest of the design… almost like she was an afterthought. It’s weird! I like the font of the title, but not the authors name at the top.

US- I love the red and orange background. I love all the different creatures (the spider at the top is such a nice touch). The square is a little weird, but it also gives you an insight on what the book is about, mainly because of the hand coming out. I like where the authors name is and the font of the title. I like how it looks older because of the boarder designs.

WINNER: US!

 

2. The Diviners by Libba Bray

US-UK

UK- I actually really dislike this cover. I don’t like the girl at the bottom. I don’t like the font of the title nor the cheesy phrase underneath it. The lines coming from the skyline is weird and I just don’t like the skyline either. The eye is awesome and I like the colors.

US- I LOVE everything about this one! The eye, the font of the title, the key hole. I like how subtle the city is behind it. I think my only gripe would be that they changed the cover for the paperback and it’s not nearly as nice.

WINNER: US!

 

3. Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton (Rebel in the Sands #2)

US-UK

UK: MY HEART SKIPPED A BEAT WHEN I SAW THIS! I love it so much! I hate the color purple in everything except for books. Purple books are always so striking. Plus the image really gives a good insight for where the book is set.

US- UGH! So this one isn’t bad in the slightest. I’m all for awesome females with bows on the covers, but because it went from the beauty that was Rebel in the Sands, to this really disappointed me. I also don’t like that she’s looking at us… it makes me feel uncomfortable.

WINNER: UK!

 

4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik  (I haven’t read this one, so this is based purely on which one pulls me in better and not so much what it’s about.)

US-UK

UK- I like the colors and cartoonish vibe of this cover. I like the limbs and leaves surrounding the title. This cover is just really interesting.

US- I love the brown, rustic colors of this. I like the window thing and I even like the girl with the flower. I like the tree at the bottom and absolutely LOVE the font of the title!

WINNER: This one will have to be a tie! US/UK!

 

5. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

US-UK

UK- I hate real people on book covers. I can’t stand it. BUT! At least it’s SOMETHING to look at! (the people also look too much in love and no.) I like the font of the title. I have how big the author’s name is and that cheesy tagline at the bottom.

US- ……… I? Guess? I? like? the? color? blue? I can’t even comment on this cover because it’s literally just blue with water bubbles? I understand why they decided on that based off of ONE scene from the book.

WINNER: UK! but only because it actually has something to look at.

 

6. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

US-UK-NEW UK PAPERBACK

UK- This cover is so ugly. The girl looks weird and that wave behind her is weird. I like the font though!

UK Paperback- I thought I would add this one just to show it off. I like it enough. It’s simplistic and I actually do like the color blue (even though I am kind of thrown off by the fact that all these cover involve blue/water when the title is Truthwitch… Plot wise, I understand, but not based on title.)

US- I like this one a lot. I like the way the girl is facing away and the way the sword goes through the “h”. The ONLY thing I don’t like is the quote from SJM on it (if you’ve read my “series I won’t finish” post, you’ll know why.)

WINNER: US!

~

FINAL SCORE: US- 3,5 AND UK- 2.5

FINAL WINNER: US!! 

I hope you guys liked that. I had fun writing it! Comment below what cover you prefer!

One thought on “US vs. UK Book Covers

  1. I cannot stand book covers with real people on them, too! For me, they just take away the fun in Imagining the characters since they are like dictating the way the main characters should look like 😦

    Great post! It is definitely nice to see cover comparisons between the countries 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

