28588345.jpg

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all she’s gained.

When a new danger appears, Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds, putting not only herself at risk, but every Elite. In order to preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.

My Rating: 2.5/5

Spoiler Free thoughts: What. The. Heck. Was. That??? I waited an entire year only to be very very disappointed. Nothing happened 90% of the book, but the ending made my rating go up an extra half star because I did enjoy it… a little. I loved the first two books in this series so much (The Rose Society was one of my top ten reads of 2015), but this… I don’t even know what to say (or I do know what to say, but it probably isn’t nice).

  • I skim read 80% of this book.
  • I realized while reading this that I don’t like how Marie Lu writes finales. I feel like she doesn’t leave enough in her stories for a third book. This happened back when Champion was released and I felt… deflated after the AWESOMENESS of Prodigy. I think her next book series will only be two books long so hopefully I have a better time with that because I do love Marie Lu and her creativity and the way she tells the story. She gets me into her books, but always leaves me kind of wishing I had never started them.
  • The Midnight Star was lacking in world building for me. I don’t understand the world and honestly, I don’t think I ever did, but I had PLOT and character development in the other two books to not really notice. With this one, nothing happened so it made me look at the other mistakes.
  • Magiano was the highlight of this book and one of the reasons it was a 2.5 instead of 1.5 rating. I really love his character and his relationship with Adelina. I think of him and smile at random times because he’s that lovable.
  • I also liked the quotes at the beginning of each chapter. That sort of added to the world building, but not enough.
  • The cover is pretty.

SPOILERS BELOW

What I Liked: 

  • Like I said earlier, I really love Magiano and I love Marie Lu for giving him to me. He is one of the most loyal, loving, charismatic, beautiful characters I have ever read about. The fact that he could stay with Adelina after everything she did and how bad she got really says a lot about him. If I ever met someone with all his characteristics, I would marry them on the spot. He follows Adelina even after her death (that little epilogue at the end KILLED me!)
  • THE ENDING!!! Marie Lu’s imagination is just so… strange. Her version of the underworld was so interesting!! I think it’s my favorite aspect of this world. I loved that Adelina gave up her life for Violetta (I saw this coming, but it was still nice) and that Violetta made a deal with her god so that Adelina could become a star (HINT: The Midnight Star… who knew????) It was so sweet.
  • It’s very racially diverse which I LOVE!

What I Didn’t Like: 

  • Adelina felt like the same girl she was back in the first book which wouldn’t be that bad if she hadn’t had gone through so much character development in the second one. She was suddenly too nice again and scared all the time. Also, the constant reminder that she had voices in her head and that she was “queen” and that “she deserved all this” annoyed me to no end. WE GET IT!! You don’t have to pound it in us. I skimmed most of Adelina’s chapters which is sad because she’s the mc and 90% of the book is in her POV.
  • Violetta ending up as queen. That’s just weird and I don’t think it fits with where her character was going. She had followed her sister for so long that she needed to find her own path in life and make her own choices. Anyways, she’s a young girl? What kind of kingdom just hands over the crown to the young sister of a dictator? That’s just so weird to me.
  • The deaths held no meaning. Violetta dying would’ve been more heartbreaking if she wasn’t dying the entire book and if she had actually spoken more than three lines. Enzo’s was anti climatic and ridiculous. I hate that Rafaelle had to do it. That was just cruel (and I’m all about making your characters suffer, but this was unnecessary). I didn’t care about Taren at all in this book so it didn’t matter that he died… though I appreciated seeing Adelina cry over him (even though she hated him, but it brought me back to a different scene in a different book by a different author).
  • The pacing was so slow… I couldn’t do it. I didn’t care about what little action there was because I had been so bored up until that point that I no longer cared. I stopped caring for this book after chapter 2.
  • I needed more. More Magiano. More AWAKE Violetta. More Sergio. More Maeve and Lucent (their relationship was tossed in for diversity sake and that was it). More PLOT. More world building. More character development. More. More. More.  The whole book just wasn’t enough and I think that’s where my main disappointment is.
Leave a Reply

