23367261.jpg

The ruthless Empress Amara of Kraeshia has taken the Mytican throne, and now uncertainty looms over the three kingdoms. Since Lucia unleashed the fire Kindred, wreaking havoc throughout the land, Myticans have been looking for someone—anyone—they can trust. They believe in Amara, not knowing her grand promises are built on lies.

In Paelsia, Magnus and Cleo reluctantly follow King Gaius to the home of his exiled mother, Selia. Selia is a powerful witch and claims she can help unlock the magic of the Kindred—if the visitors agree to her terms. When Jonas arrives from Kraeshia, he is shocked to find that his rebel army now includes his sworn enemies. Along with Nic, Felix, and the mysteriously resurrected Ashur, the contentious group agrees to cast aside old grudges—for now—and united against their common enemy: Amara.

Meanwhile, bearing the child of a Watcher and feared by all, Princess Lucia travels across Mytica to find her family. But time is running out. The impending storm signals the dark prophecy Timotheus warned her about. Her fate is written, and it includes none other than the rebel Jonas. When their paths collied, Jonas and Lucia must decide between blindly following their destiny or fighting for their own free will.

The battle for power culminates at the Paelsian palace, where Amara resides. Rain pours. Blood spills. And soon all will discover that the darkest magic comes at an even darker price.

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars (probably really a 4, but I couldn’t bring myself to rate it lower)

Spoiler free thoughts: This wasn’t my favorite book in the series; however, I still really enjoyed reading it and emerging myself back into Mytica and the crazy lives of these characters. I expected more than what I got, so that was a let down. I enjoyed that we got more background on some of the characters and one character arc in particular really stuck out to me and I wasn’t expecting to like this character as much as I did. Overall, I thought it was a decent fifth book and a lot of things happened that make me really excited yet anxious for the last book!

SPOILERS BELOW

What I liked:

  • Magnus and Cleo’s relationship and how much it shows without constantly telling us how much they love each other. Their scenes together weren’t too over the top and didn’t take away from the plot. The problems that happened between them (Magnus sending off Nic who ultimately almost dies and Magnus’s jealously towards Jonas) didn’t bother me and fit with their characters. Magnus and Cleo didn’t change who they were just because they loved one another. Magnus was still the king of sass and made some very questionable choices and Cleo was still the headstrong girl she was before falling in love.
  • Gaius was okay in this book and I liked getting to know him better and what drove him to do what he did. He got a little bit of a redemption by not letting Cleo drink the poison, but stayed true to his character when he forced her to leave.
  • LUCIA! I spent 2 books hating her, 2 books thinking she was okay, and in CS, I absolutely loved her arc. Her head is out of the clouds and she’s finally taking responsibility for her actions. The fact that after everything, she has it in her heart to still love her father really opened my eyes to just how precious she is. Also, naming her daughter Lyssa after Lysandra was perfect.
  • Amara was killing it as always. I am glad that we got her chapters and thankfully, they were short and sweet and to the point so that she didn’t take away from the main characters story lines. She’s such an interesting character! I hope she’s alive by the end of this series so that we *might* can see more from her in the future.
  • Felix is adorable. I love him.
  • I appreciated the mentions of how Jonas always messes everything up and gets all the rebels killed with his plans. Poor kid.
  • Alexius is still dead WHOOPWHOOP!
  • Nerissa was AMAZING! I WANT MORE! I NEED MORE!!!

 

What I didn’t like:

  • Taran… I spent a year worrying that Morgan would use him as a way to break up Magneo and thankfully, she didn’t and only showed just how strong Magneo’s relationship was and I liked that… however, I don’t feel like her was used to his full potential. What was his purpose if not to break up Magneo? He was severely lacking in characterization and at times, I completely forgot he was there. He had no affect on the plot or any of the other characters. He wasn’t even used for some drama between anyone. I felt let down by his character and a part of me wishes he had never been introduces. Hopefully, this will change in the next book, but I don’t see that happening. He needs a lot of work to make me care about him in the slightest.
  • Nic and Ashur’s scenes were cute and I do ship them together, but I have never felt more cheated with how they confessed their love. Honestly? A few chapters in Nic’s POV sprinkled in would’ve fixed this whole problem. We know absolutely nothing about what happened during ALL the time they spent together (which was the whole book pretty much, but we don’t know anything about it because they were alone without a POV character with them).
  • The curse plotline for Magneo, I thought, was masterfully done. It wasn’t overbearing or constantly an issue (because hello they have more important things to worry about then having sex), but the fact that it was all a lie and didn’t even MATTER was ridiculous. Instead of Selia just killing Elena, she could’ve been the witch to put the curse on her… otherwise, it was all unnecessary.
  • Magnus and Cleo didn’t really do anything in this book while Lucia and Jonas did more to move the plot along. That isn’t a huge deal because it is about time the latter two did something, but it would’ve been nice to read them doing something instead of just sitting around.
  • Timothius (or whatever his name is) just gets on my nerves. I honestly don’t like any of the watchers.
Leave a Reply

